The  approach  of  autumn  is  heralded  by  the  running  of  the  final  handicap  race  of  the  year. An  earlier  start  time  was  necessary, but  darkness  was  still  descending  before  all  the  times  could  be  finalised.  This, unfortunately, robbed  many  runners  of  due  recognition  for  the  remarkable  9  P.B.s  which  were  set  on  the  night.  Congratulations  to  all  of  you.
Ashley  Robinson, on  only  his  second  journey  around  the  course, was  a  clear  winner  on  the  night  and  knocked  nearly  3  mins.  from  his  previous  best  time.  Gary  had  to  dig  deep  to  hold  off  a  fast  finishing  Jordan  in  the  battle  to  complete  the  top  3.  Timekeeping  and  recording  then  became  testing  as  the  next  17  runners  crossed  the  line  in  close  proximity, as  should  be  the  case  in  a  keenly  contested  handicap  race.
Jordan’s  impressive  performance, knocking  over  a  minute  and  a  half  from  his  P.B., took  him  to  no.  5  in  the  best  times  listings  over  the  woodland  course.  This  was  almost  matched  by  Mark  L.  (whose  time  was  just  9  secs.  slower)  as  he  climbed  to  no.  6  on  the  listings.  It  is  rewarding  to  see  2  of  our  newer  and  younger  members  featuring  so  effectively  and  it  bodes  well  for  the  future  of  the  club.  Rob, another  rookie, has  improved  with  every  run  of  the  series  and  should  enter  the  top  20  listings  next  season.  There was  also  a  spectacular  debut  from  17  year  old  Andrew  Davies, who  has  recently  started  training  with  the  club.  Hopefully, Andrew  will  join  the  club  soon  so  that  his  excellent  time  can  be  registered  as  a  Junior  course  record  which  would  feature  at  no.  10  on  the  listings.
Not  to  be  outshone  by  the  young  male  runners, Irina  and  Ruth  both  sliced  big  chunks  from  their  P.B.s  to  rise  to  nos.  7  and  10  respectively  on  the  female  rankings  as  they  also  illustrated  that  the  future  of  the  club  is  in  good  hands.  Sam  completed  her  handicap  series  season  with  a  clean  sweep  of  P.B.s – 5  races  and  5  improvements – this  is  exactly  the  anticipated  idea  of  the  event.
The  annual  Handicap  Trophy (awarded  to  the  runner  recording  the  lowest  points  total  based  on  the  best  5  out  of  the  6  summer’s  events)  should, theoretically, be  won  by  a  beginner  or  someone  recovering  from  injury  or  someone  on  the  comeback  trail  who  is  improving  with  every  race.  The  2012  title  was  won  by  Richard  who  may  not  be  covered  by  any  of  the  above  descriptions, but  his  improvement  came  from  a  base  of  ultra  distance  racing  and  training  with  these  shorter  and  faster  runs  a  bit  of  a  shock  to  his  system.  Congratulations  Richard  on  applying  yourself  so  purposefully.  Your  wholehearted  effort  was  palpable  and  your  reward  thoroughly  deserved.

This  concluded  a  highly  successful  handicap  series   with  a  record  turnout  and  some  pleasing  and  impressive  performances.

1 Ashley Robinson 27.40 P.B. By 2 mins. 55 secs.
2 Gary Gunner 26.33
3 Jordan McQueen 21.45 P.B. By 1 min. 32 secs.
4 Patrick Pearson 24.05
5 Ruth Stafford 28.11 P.B. By 1 min. 1 sec.
6 Tom Davies 28.38
7 Richard Hornsby 23.44
8 Martin Williams 25.17
9 Neil Taylor 26.41
10 Irina Dale 27.23 P.B. By 58 secs.
11 Mark Lamonby 21.54 P.B. By 54 secs.
12 Sam Harper 29.42 P.B. By 43 secs.
13 Guy Whitmarsh 28.02
14 Simon Norwood 22.12
15 Rob Jones 23.47 P.B. By 27 secs.
16 Dave George 24.30
17 Bryan Markham 35.18
18 Jon Briggs 27.10
19 Stuart Austin 24.04
20 Sue Davies 26.11
21 Frank Luscott 29.20
22 Daren Lincoln 27.52
Ashley Edwards (guest) 22.59
Toby Austin (guest) 25.34 P.B. By 1 min. 54 secs.
Jasper Robinson (guest) 27.21 P.B. By 1 min. 25 secs.
Sue Powell 33.15 Debut
Jon Utley 29.26
Andrew Davies (guest) 22.32 Debut


  • Richard Hornsby 35 pts.
  • Patrick Pearson 38 pts.
  • Rob Jones 42 pts.
  • Ruth Stafford 48 pts.
  • Sue Davies 58 pts.
  • Martin Williams 59 pts.
  • Sam Harper 61 pts.
  • Tom Davies 61 pts.
  • Gary Gunner 64 pts.
  • Frank Luscott 77 pts.

For handicap best times, see Results page (via Events)

Comment on this article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.